Lille Opera

 

Key dates for the Lille Opera

  1903

Built in 1788, the old theatre in the heart of the city is destroyed by a fire.

1907

The city launches a competition for the construction of a new building for the Opera. The winning design, by architect Louis-Marie Cordonnier, calls for a grand hall in the Italian style (one of the last examples constructed in France).

Neoclassical in inspiration, the building is modelled after the Palais Garnier, but with a different morphology and more modest proportions.

1914

The main construction work is completed by July 1914, at the dawn of the First World War. Just as the building is nearing completion, the Germans take over the Opera and present some hundred performances and concerts in nearly four years of occupation.

1923

After the German occupation and a period of restoration, the “Grand Theatre” – as it is called at the time – gives its “French premier”. Nearly a decade will thus have separated the end of the construction and the official inauguration of the Opera.

Up to 1940

The Opera hosts the major lyric and dramatic artists such as Cabanel, José de Trévi, Huberty, Georges Thill and many others. The building itself will witness a few interior alterations, pending the big renovation of 1998.

 

1998

The aging of certain parts of the Opera and the desire to offer to the public a theatre of the highest technical and aesthetic quality encourage the City of Lille to close the building for major renovations, a project led by the architects Patrice Neirinck and Pierre-Louis Carlier.

The stage is modernized with the latest technologies, making it possible to present all types of performances. New rehearsal spaces are also created on the top floor of the building. With these new facilities, the Lille Opera is optimally positioned for the creation of operatic and dance performances.

2003

The reopening of the Opera is an important event in the launching of Lille 2004 European Capital of Culture.

2003-2004

With a highly colourful premiere season, the New Lille Opera garners a large and enthusiastic audience from throughout the region. For the first season, nearly 25% of subscribers are under 26 years old.

Since 2004

The Lille Opera continues to offer audiences in northern France and Belgium exciting events of lyric creation and repertoire, modern dance and music.

go_top

Opéra de Lille

 

L’opéra en quelques dates

1903

L’ancien théâtre construit en 1788 au cœur de la ville est détruit par un incendie.

1907

La municipalité lance un concours pour la construction d’un nouvel édifice. Le projet lauréat de l’architecte Louis-Marie Cordonnier est marqué par la volonté de reproduire une salle à l’italienne (un des derniers exemples construits en France).
D’inspiration néoclassique le bâtiment adopte le parti de composition du Palais Garnier, mais avec une morphologie générale différente et des proportions plus modestes.

1914

Le gros œuvre du chantier s’achève en juillet 1914, au début de la première guerre mondiale. (Alors que les travaux arrivent à leur terme,) les Allemands investissent l’Opéra et y présentent une centaine de spectacles et de concerts en près de quatre années d’occupation.

1923

Après cette occupation germanique et une période de remise en état, le « Grand Théâtre » comme on l’appelait à l’époque a pu donner sa « première française ». 20 ans auront donc séparé la fin des travaux et l’inauguration officielle de l’Opéra.

Jusqu’en 1940

L’Opéra accueillera de grands artistes lyriques et dramatiques comme Cabanel, José de Trévi, Huberty, Georges Thill et bien d’autres. L’édifice quant à lui, verra quelques réaménagements intérieurs en attendant la rénovation de 1998.

 

1998

La vétusté de certains éléments de l’Opéra et la volonté de proposer au public un théâtre de grande qualité technique et esthétique encourage la Ville de Lille à fermer le bâtiment pour entreprendre de grands travaux de rénovation menés par les architectes Patrice Neirinck et Pierre-Louis Carlier.
La modernisation de la scène a bénéficié des technologies les plus avancées pour rendre possible la présentation de tout type de spectacles. De nouveaux espaces de répétitions ont également été aménagés au dernier étage du bâtiment pour accueillir des équipes artistiques. Doté de ces nouveaux outils, l’Opéra de Lille possède ainsi les meilleurs atouts pour la création de spectacles d’opéra et de danse.

2003

La réouverture de l’Opéra est un événement d’autant plus important qu’il intervient dans le cadre du lancement de Lille 2004 Capitale Européenne de la Culture.

2003-2004

Hautes en couleurs, la première saison du Nouvel Opéra de Lille suscite une adhésion large et enthousiaste du public de la région. La première saison compte notamment près de 25% d’abonnés âgés de moins de 26 ans.

Depuis 2004

L’Opéra de Lille fonctionne à plein régime pour offrir au public du nord de la France et de la Belgique de multiples rendez-vous avec le répertoire et la création lyrique, la danse contemporaine et la musique.

go_top